Skip to content

Start, Stop, and Delete Deployments

This page provides detailed instructions on how to start, stop, and delete different plans of deployments in the Cloud Console.

Serverless Plan

This section introduces how to start, stop, and delete a Serverless plan deployment.

Start and Stop a Deployment

To start a deployment that is already stopped in the Console, click the deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page and click the Start button in the upper-right corner. To stop a deployment, follow the instructions below:

Note

After stopping the deployment, devices will not be able to connect to the deployment, and your data and connection addresses will be retained.

  1. In the Console, click the deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click the Stop button in the upper right corner and enter the deployment name in the pop-up box.
  3. Click Confirm to stop the deployment.

Delete a Deployment

Note

After deleting the deployment, devices will not be able to connect to the deployment, and all data and configurations of the deployment will be deleted.

  1. In the Console, click the target deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click Deployment Settings in the left menu, and click the Delete Deployment at the bottom of the page.
  3. Enter the deployment name in the pop-up box.
  4. Click Confirm to delete the deployment.

Dedicated Flex Plan

This section introduces how to start, stop, and delete a Dedicated Flex plan deployment.

Start and Stop a Deployment

To start a deployment that is already stopped in the Console, click the deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page and click the Start button in the upper-right corner.

To stop a deployment, follow the instructions below. Before stopping the deployment, make sure that the deployment is running.

Note

After stopping the deployment, you will not be able to connect to the deployment, but your data and connection addresses will be retained, and data retention fees will be charged.

  1. In the Console, click the target deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click the Stop button in the upper right corner and enter the deployment name in the pop-up box.
  3. Click Confirm to stop the deployment.

Delete a Deployment

Note

For Annual Prepaid Dedicated Flex deployments, deletion is not currently supported directly in the Console. To delete this type of deployment, contact the EMQX team by submitting a support ticket.

Before deleting the deployment, make sure that the deployment is running.

Note

After deleting the deployment, you will no longer be able to connect to it, and all deployment data and configurations will be removed. The deployment billing will also be stopped.

  1. In the Console, click the target deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click Deployment Settings in the left menu, and click the Delete Deployment button at the bottom of the page.
  3. Enter the deployment name in the pop-up box.
  4. Click Confirm to delete the deployment.

BYOC

This section introduces how to start, stop, and delete a BYOC deployment. For each operation, the Console provides a guide with the current steps and commands for the deployment's cloud provider. Use the commands generated for the current deployment instead of commands saved from another deployment or guide session.

Start a Deployment

Prerequisite

Before starting a deployment, make sure that you have configured the required IAM permissions.

  1. In the Console, click the target deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click Start in the upper-right corner to open the Start Deployment Guide.
  3. Follow the steps in the guide for the deployment's cloud provider and prepare the environment and cloud credentials as instructed. For credential descriptions, see Command Parameters.
  4. Copy the commands generated for the current deployment and run them in the specified order. Replace only the credential placeholders. Do not modify values automatically generated by EMQX Cloud.
  5. After the commands complete, confirm that the deployment status is Running.

Stop a Deployment

Prerequisite

Before stopping a deployment, make sure that you have configured the required IAM permissions.

Note

After stopping the deployment, you will not be able to connect to it, but its data and connection addresses will be retained.

  1. In the Console, click the target deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click Stop in the upper-right corner to open the Stop Deployment Guide.
  3. Follow the steps in the guide for the deployment's cloud provider and prepare the environment and cloud credentials as instructed. For credential descriptions, see Command Parameters.
  4. Copy the commands generated for the current deployment and run them in the specified order. Replace only the credential placeholders. Do not modify values automatically generated by EMQX Cloud.
  5. After the commands complete, confirm that the deployment status is Stopped.

Delete a Deployment

Prerequisites

Before deleting the deployment:

  • Make sure that its status is Running.
  • Delete any custom resources that you created in the BYOC VPC after creating the deployment. Otherwise, the deletion may fail.

Important Notice

Deleting a deployment permanently removes all data and configurations associated with it. You will no longer be able to connect to the deployment.

  1. In the Console, click the target deployment card to enter the Deployment Overview page.
  2. Click Deployment Settings in the left menu, and then click Delete Deployment at the bottom of the page to open the Delete Deployment Guide.
  3. Follow the steps in the guide for the deployment's cloud provider and prepare the environment and cloud credentials as instructed. For credential descriptions, see Command Parameters.
  4. Copy the commands generated for the current deployment and run them in the specified order. Replace only the credential placeholders. Do not modify values automatically generated by EMQX Cloud.
  5. When prompted to confirm deletion of the cloud resources, enter yes.
  6. After the commands complete, confirm that the deployment has been deleted.

For Azure, the resource group prepared for the BYOC deployment and any unrelated resources in it are retained.

Command Parameters

The commands generated in the Start, Stop, and Delete Deployment Guides include parameters for cloud provider credentials and EMQX Cloud access. Replace the credential placeholders that require your input as described below.

Cloud Provider Credentials

ParameterCloud ProviderDescription
--accessKeyAWSAccess key ID for the AWS IAM user.
--secretKeyAWSSecret access key for the AWS IAM user.
--projectIDGoogle CloudGoogle Cloud project ID. You can find it in the project selector in Google Cloud Console.
--authJSONPathGoogle CloudAbsolute path to the Google Cloud service account key JSON file.
--tenantIDAzureMicrosoft Entra directory (tenant) ID.
--accessKeyAzureApplication (client) ID of the service principal.
--secretKeyAzureClient secret value of the service principal.

Console-Generated Parameters

Do not modify the following values automatically generated in the deployment guide:

ParameterDescription
--platformCloud provider of the deployment.
--byocEndpointEMQX Cloud access address used by the toolkit.
--byocKeyAuthentication key for the current BYOC operation. The key is valid for one hour and should be used promptly after the command is generated.